Category: About us
Published Date Hits: 1394


The three (3) major symbols of the Coat of Arms of the Diocese represent the three (3) jurisdictions that comprise the Diocese of Kalookan namely:

  • The Monument at the very center represents Kalookan City from which the name of the Diocese was derived.
  • The Fishes on the right represent the City of Malabon; and
  • The Banca on the left represents the City of Navotas.

The red color of the lower half of the insignia symbolizes not only the valor of martyrdom of our Philippine heroes with which Kalookan is noted for, but more importantly, the sanguine ardour, fortitude and love of the Diocese of Kalookan in the fulfilment of her mission.

The blue color of the upper half of the insignia denotes the Marian Character of the diocesan ministry.

The Cross on top of the insignia signifies the centrality of Jesus Christ in the life and function of the entire Diocese of Kalookan while the dove, hovering above the monument, represents the Holy Spirit sanctifying the lives of the people of God – the bishop, priests, religious men and women and the laity – in the new diocese.

The theme, the latin words: “DUC IN ALTUM” (Lk: 5:4) – “put out into the deep” – binds together all the elements of the insignia and captures the spirit and direction of the Diocese of Kalookan in the Third Christian Millennium.

The new diocese, powered by the love of Jesus and the grace of the Holy Spirit, sails forth with faith and courage accompanied by Mary to cast its net so that a bountiful harvest may be reaped for the glory of God and the salvation of the souls.

*AGOS, The Official Publication of the Diocese of Kalookan, September 2003 Special Issue, p.4.

Category: About us
Published Date Hits: 1665

The Birth of the Diocese of Kalookan

On Pope‟s Day, June 28, 2003, His Excellency Most Rev. Antonio Franco, D.D., Papal Nuncio to the Philippines, presided over the celebration of the Holy Eucharist at the Manila Cathedral.

After communion, His Eminence Jaime Cardinal L. Sin, D.D., Archbishop of Manila, formally announced the division of the Archdiocese of Manila into six new dioceses including the Diocese of Kalookan. He further announced that the first bishop of the new diocese would be His Excellency Most Rev. Deogracias S. Iñiguez, Jr., D.D., then Bishop of the Diocese of Iba.

On August 22, 2003, at the solemn Rites of Liturgical Reception and Canonical Possession, His Eminence Jaime Cardinal L. Sin, D.D., installed Bishop Iñiguez as the first bishop of the Diocese of Kalookan in the presence of the Papal Nuncio, the Archbishops and Bishops of the Roman Catholic Church, the Bishops of Protestant Churches, the Clergy, the Religious and the Catholic faithful.

The Territorial Area of the Diocese of Kalookan

The new Diocese of Kalookan is composed of the southern part of the city of Caloocan, and the cities of Malabon and Navotas. It covers a smaller territory than the former Ecclesiastical District of Cal-Ma-Na. It is bounded on the North by Valenzuela City; on the East by Quezon City, on the West by Manila Bay; and on the South by Manila. It has twenty-six [26] parishes, one quasi-parish and one mission station.

The parishes are clustered into five [5] vicariates as follows:

Vicariate of San Roque

  • San Roque Cathedral Parish 
  • St. Joseph the Workman Parish 
  • Immaculate Heart of Mary Parish 
  • Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish [Tugatog] 
  • Mary Help of Christians Parish

Vicariate of Our Lady of Grace

  • Shrine of Our Lady of Grace Parish 
  • Sagrada Familia Parish 
  • San Jose de Agudo Parish 
  • San Pancrasio Parish 
  • Hearts of Jesus and Mary Parish

Vicariate of Sacred Heart

  • Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish [Morning Breeze] 
  • St. Francis and Sta. Quiteria Parish 
  • St. Gabriel the Archangel Parish 
  • Birhen ng Lourdes Parish 
  • Birhen ng Lujan and Sta. Lutgarda Quasi-Parish 
  • Sts. Peter and John Parish

Vicariate of San Bartolome

  • San Bartolome Parish 
  • Immaculate Conception Parish 
  • Exaltation of the Holy Cross Parish 
  • San Antonio de Padua Parish 
  • Sto. Rosario Parish 
  • Sta. Cruz Parish

Vicariate of San Jose

  • San Jose de Navotas Parish 
  • San Exequiel Moreno Parish 
  • San Ildefonso Parish 
  • San Lorenzo Ruiz and Companion Martyrs Parish 
  • San Roque de Navotas Parish 
  • Sta. Clara Mission Station

Page 2 of 2

Daily Bible pausing (God bless you!) pausing (God bless you!) Greetings, Our daily Scripture email delivery will be unavailable while we upgrade our system. We expect it to continue in the near future. We encourage you to continue to read Scripture every day, it is alive and powerful. Many devotions are available at as well as; additional Bible teachings are available at

Liturgical Calendar

Ash Wednesday
(Wednesday, 14 February 2018, 11 days earlier)

Lent (first Sunday)
(Sunday, 18 February 2018, 7 days earlier)

Palm Sunday
(Sunday, 25 March 2018, 28 days later)

Maundy Thursday
(Thursday, 29 March 2018, 32 days later)

Good Friday
(Friday, 30 March 2018, 33 days later)

Holy Saturday
(Saturday, 31 March 2018, 34 days later)

Easter Sunday
(Sunday, 01 April 2018, 35 days later)


Subscribe to received latest news and events

Make a Donation

Thank you for your donation.