Category: About us
Published Date Hits: 1551

The Birth of the Diocese of Kalookan

On Pope‟s Day, June 28, 2003, His Excellency Most Rev. Antonio Franco, D.D., Papal Nuncio to the Philippines, presided over the celebration of the Holy Eucharist at the Manila Cathedral.

After communion, His Eminence Jaime Cardinal L. Sin, D.D., Archbishop of Manila, formally announced the division of the Archdiocese of Manila into six new dioceses including the Diocese of Kalookan. He further announced that the first bishop of the new diocese would be His Excellency Most Rev. Deogracias S. Iñiguez, Jr., D.D., then Bishop of the Diocese of Iba.

On August 22, 2003, at the solemn Rites of Liturgical Reception and Canonical Possession, His Eminence Jaime Cardinal L. Sin, D.D., installed Bishop Iñiguez as the first bishop of the Diocese of Kalookan in the presence of the Papal Nuncio, the Archbishops and Bishops of the Roman Catholic Church, the Bishops of Protestant Churches, the Clergy, the Religious and the Catholic faithful.

The Territorial Area of the Diocese of Kalookan

The new Diocese of Kalookan is composed of the southern part of the city of Caloocan, and the cities of Malabon and Navotas. It covers a smaller territory than the former Ecclesiastical District of Cal-Ma-Na. It is bounded on the North by Valenzuela City; on the East by Quezon City, on the West by Manila Bay; and on the South by Manila. It has twenty-six [26] parishes, one quasi-parish and one mission station.

The parishes are clustered into five [5] vicariates as follows:

Vicariate of San Roque

  • San Roque Cathedral Parish 
  • St. Joseph the Workman Parish 
  • Immaculate Heart of Mary Parish 
  • Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish [Tugatog] 
  • Mary Help of Christians Parish

Vicariate of Our Lady of Grace

  • Shrine of Our Lady of Grace Parish 
  • Sagrada Familia Parish 
  • San Jose de Agudo Parish 
  • San Pancrasio Parish 
  • Hearts of Jesus and Mary Parish

Vicariate of Sacred Heart

  • Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish [Morning Breeze] 
  • St. Francis and Sta. Quiteria Parish 
  • St. Gabriel the Archangel Parish 
  • Birhen ng Lourdes Parish 
  • Birhen ng Lujan and Sta. Lutgarda Quasi-Parish 
  • Sts. Peter and John Parish

Vicariate of San Bartolome

  • San Bartolome Parish 
  • Immaculate Conception Parish 
  • Exaltation of the Holy Cross Parish 
  • San Antonio de Padua Parish 
  • Sto. Rosario Parish 
  • Sta. Cruz Parish

Vicariate of San Jose

  • San Jose de Navotas Parish 
  • San Exequiel Moreno Parish 
  • San Ildefonso Parish 
  • San Lorenzo Ruiz and Companion Martyrs Parish 
  • San Roque de Navotas Parish 
  • Sta. Clara Mission Station


Subscribe to received latest news and events

Make a Donation

Thank you for your donation.