Category: Vicariate of San Roque
Published Date Hits: 2089

Established: November 6, 1960
M.H. del Pilar corner Pureza Streets, Tugatog, Malabon City
Tel. No.: (02) 288 3777

PARISH PRIEST: Rev. Fr. Mariano C. Bartolome, Jr.


THE FIRST UNIT OF THE LEGION OF MARY, Praesidium Regina Pacis, founded on October 19, 1947, was instrumental in the establishment of the Parish of the Sacred Heart of Jesus. Tugatog had two chapels, and in both chapels, masses on Sundays and on Holy Days of Obligation were regularly celebrated through the efforts of the Legion of Mary. This vibrant beginning was credited to the faith of the community along with the Vincentian Priests and Most Rev. Teotimo C. Pacis, C.M., as they shepherd the flock in San Bartolome. Bishop Pacis served as the pillar and strength of the parishioners, and of the lay organizations as well.

On March 25, 1958, the Legionaries, through the encouragement of their spiritual director, Rev. Fr. Jovito Reyes, sent a petition to the Archbishop of Manila, His Eminence Rufino J. Cardinal Santos, for the separation of Tugatog from San Bartolome. The request was granted in 1960, with the chapel on M. H. del Pilar serving as the temporary parish church.

It was during the administration of Rev. Fr. Reynaldo V. Romero that the site for the parish was acquired; however, it was only in Rev. Fr. Antonio Benedicto’s supervision that the construction of the church was started and completed. The first Parish Council was as well created in Fr. Benedicto’s term.

Through the years, several parish lay organizations have been instituted, such as the Praesidium Janua Coeli (1960); Apostleship of Prayer (1961); Catholic Women’s League and the Mother Butlers Guild (1962).


Sacred Heart of Jesus

THE SACRED HEART OF JESUS IS ONE OF THE MOST POPULAR RELIGIOUS devotions to Jesus Christ, attributed to the divine love and mercy that He provides for humanity. The devotion was made known to the world through a French Catholic nun, Saint Margaret Mary Alacoque, who learned the dedication from Jesus Himself, from an experience wherein Jesus allowed her to lay her head upon His heart.

Saint Margaret Alacoque, a nun from the Sisters of the Good Shepherd Congregation, was the premier witness of several apparitions of Jesus Christ, wherein the Lord expressed his love for mankind, and His sorrow for man’s ungratefulness. Saint Margaret’s mission astounded the world with different revelations, including indulgences in return for the grant of Jesus’ requests, and constant and fervent devotion to the Sacred Heart.

The Sacred Heart is often depicted in Christian art as a flaming heart shining with divine light, pierced by the lance-wound, surrounded by the crown of thorns, surmounted by a cross and bleeding. Sometimes the image shown shining within the bosom of Christ with his wounded hands pointing at the heart. The wounds and crown of thorns allude to the manner of Jesus' death, while the fire represents the transformative power of divine love.

The Feast of the Sacred Heart has been a Solemnity in the Roman Catholic liturgical calendar since 1856, and is celebrated 19 days after Pentecost. As Pentecost is always celebrated on Sunday, the Feast of the Sacred Heart always falls on a Friday.




Rev. Fr. Reynaldo Romero November 1960 – July 1964
Rev. Fr. Antonio Q. Benedicto July 1964 – September 1972
Rev. Fr. Severino Lorica September 1972 – February 1976
Rev. Fr. Boanerges A. Lechuga February 1976 – December 1979
Rev. Fr. Domingo Cirilos, Jr. January 1980 – September 1983
Rev. Fr. Anastacio B. Gapac September 1983 – February 1996
Rev. Fr. Ricardo B. Mallari February 1996 – May 1997
Rev. Fr. Alex V. Amandy May 1997 – April 2002
Rev. Fr. Nestor P. Fajardo April 2002 – 2016

Bro. Roberto Policarpio





Subscribe to received latest news and events

Make a Donation

Thank you for your donation.